location

Wünsdorf has served as a military base and barracks for over 100 years. Now a Peace Center is to be built here. A metamorphosis with tremendous radiance.

wünsdorf

From a city of war to a city of peace

The military base Wünsdorf south of Berlin has a long history. A Prussian, German and a Soviet history. At the beginning of the 20th century imperial troops were quartered here, during the First World War Wünsdorf became the headquarters of the German Reichswehr. From 1938 until the end of the Second World War, the military site was used for the High Command of the Nazi Wehrmacht. From 1953 the High Command of the Soviet Armed Forces in Germany was stationed here. This made Wünsdorf a Soviet city in the middle of the GDR, shielded from the rest of the country. At times over 40,000 military personnel with their families lived in this “Forbidden City”.

Since the departure of the Russian military in 1994, the core area of the former military town of Wünsdorf has been abandoned. The time has come to advance the transformation of this military location into a sustainable living space. As the focal point of the hot and cold wars of the twentieth century, Wünsdorf in the twenty-first century has the chance to transform itself into a model city, providing solutions to the most pressing future questions of our time. With the Eco City Wünsdorf becomes the engine of a sustainable design of society – locally, regionally and worldwide.

Former army sports school

Heritage listed historic buildings can be re-purposed for the Eco City and the needs of the campus. Its ecological refurbishment is part of the education and also a part and symbol of its transformation.

existing buildings

1
2
3
4
5
6
7

the future

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16

the region

Eco City Wünsdorf redefines the relationship between the city and its surroundings: its strong appeal to companies, start-ups and investors revitalizes the structurally weak region and opens up new perspectives.

The Eco City is the world’s first integrated ecological city with state-of-the-art knowledge and technological development. That sets standards. Solutions developed in Wünsdorf will conquer the markets of the future. Thus, this pioneer project will become an attractive cooperation partner for politics, culture and business.

Ecological model region Berlin-Brandenburg

The redevelopment of the abandoned urban area has positive economic effects for local industries of all kinds: construction and cr afts, energy, water and agriculture, commerce, services and real estate, agriculture, tourism, food production. The establishment of an int egrated ecological city, the settlement of 10,000 appr entices, the founding of an int ernational academy and cooperation with companies and institutions promote local value creation in the long t erm and lead to sustainable growth effects.

Opportunities for the surrounding area

Experience, competence, expertise and trained specialists and application-oriented models not only benefit the Eco City. T he entire region profits from the resources and know-how. Thus, a sustainable transformation is initiated, which leads t o the founding of start-ups, the establishment of businesses and promotes the initiation of other model projects and long-term to an ecological model region in Berlin-Brandenburg.

Want to find out more?

Take a look into our media portal, where you can find more information to download, press coverage and more!
to the download area

You want to support us?

ort

Über 100 Jahre lang hat Wünsdorf vor den Toren Berlins als Militärstützpunkt und Kasernenstadt gedient. Jetzt soll hier ein Friedenszentrum entstehen. Eine Metamorphose mit außerordentlicher Strahlkraft.

wünsdorf

Von der Kriegs- zur Friedensstadt

Die Militärbasis Wünsdorf südlich von Berlin hat eine lange Geschichte. Eine preußische, deutsche und sowjetische. Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts waren hier kaiserliche Truppen kaserniert, im Ersten Weltkrieg wurde Wünsdorf zum Hauptquartier der deutschen Reichswehr. Ab 1938 bis zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurde der Standort für das Oberkommando der NS-Wehrmacht genutzt. Ab 1953 war dort das Oberkommando der sowjetischen Streitkräfte in Deutschland stationiert. Das machte Wünsdorf zu einer sowjetischen Enklave mitten in der DDR, abgeschirmt vom Rest des Landes. In dieser „Verbotenen Stadt“ lebten zeitweise über 40.000 Soldaten mit ihren Familien.

Seit dem Abzug der „Westgruppe der Truppen“ im Jahre 1994 liegt das Kerngebiet der ehemaligen Militärstadt Wünsdorf brach. Die Zeit ist gekommen, die Transformation dieses Militärstandorts in einen zukunftsfähigen Lebensraum voranzutreiben. Der ehemalige Brennpunkt der heißen und kalten Kriege des 20. Jahrhunderts erhält im 21. Jahrhundert die Chance zur Metamorphose in eine Modellstadt, die Lösungen für die drängendsten Zukunftsfragen unserer Zeit entwickelt. Mit der Eco City wird Wünsdorf zum Motor einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaftsgestaltung – lokal, regional und weltweit.

Ehemalige Heeressportschule

Die denkmalgeschützte historische Bausubstanz kann für die Eco City und die Campus-Erfordernisse umgenutzt werden. Ihre ökologische Sanierung ist zugleich Gegenstand der Ausbildung wie Teil und Symbol der Transformation.

Bestandsplan

1
2
3
4
5
6
7

Die Zukunft

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16

die region

Die Eco City Wünsdorf definiert die Beziehung zwischen Stadt und Land neu: Ihre starke Anziehungskraft auf Firmen, Start-ups und Investoren revitalisiert die strukturschwache Region und eröffnet neue Perspektiven.

Mit der Eco City entsteht die weltweit erste integrierte ökologische Stadt auf dem neuesten Stand des Wissens und der technologischen Entwicklung. Das setzt Maßstäbe. In Wünsdorf entwickelte Lösungen werden die Märkte der Zukunft erobern. So wird aus diesem Vorreiterprojekt ein attraktiver Kooperationspartner für Politik, Kultur und Wirtschaft.

Ökologische Modellregion Berlin-Brandenburg

Die ökologische Kreativwirtschaft hat positive Effekte für lokale Branchen wie Baugewerbe und Handwerk, Energie-, Wasser- und Landwirtschaft, Handel, Dienstleistung und Immobilien, Landwirtschaft, Tourismus und Lebensmittelproduktion. Der Aufbau einer integrierten ökologischen Stadt, die Ansiedlung von 10.000 Auszubildenden, die Gründung einer internationalen Akademie sowie Kooperationen mit Unternehmen und Institutionen fördern die lokale Wertschöpfung langfristig und führen zu nachhaltigen Wachstumseffekten.

Chancen für das Umland

Erfahrung, Kompetenz, Expertise sowie ausgebildete Fachkräfte und anwendungsorientierte Modelle kommen nicht nur der Eco City zugute: Von den Ressourcen und dem Know-how profitiert die ganze Region. So wird eine nachhaltige Umgestaltung eingeleitet, die zur Gründung von Start-ups und Betrieben führt, zur Entstehung weiterer Modellprojekte – und damit zu einer zukunftsweisenden Modellregion in Berlin-Brandenburg.

Sie wollen mehr erfahren?

Dann werfen Sie einen Blick in unser Medienportal, wo Sie Infomaterial zum Download, Pressestimmen und mehr finden.
zum Medienportal

Sie würden uns gern unterstützen?