concept

four pillars,
ten thousand researchers

Local circular economy is the solution for sustainable urban development. This is where Eco City Wünsdorf comes in – with its four core elements of Campus, Academy, Eco Station and Aesthetics.

The Eco City Wünsdorf is a cellular ecological urban organism that operates as autonomously as possible. Its inhabitants are consumers and producers at the same time, who provide for themselves as much as possible. They use renewable energy, local water and nutrient cycles, cradle-to-cradle technologies for durable and recyclable products, and consistently sustainable mobility solutions.

The Eco City Wünsdorf is above all a campus city, education and training are its foundation. The largest group are apprentices , who live, work and get educated in the field of sustainable urban development. People from crisis areas, Germans, Europeans and international students are testing concepts of sustainable urbanity. Supported by experts, practitioners, NGOs and foundations, Wünsdorf is creating a place of constant exchange with interested parties from the region as well as stakeholders from all over the world. Starting from this model city, more and more cities will function according to the principle of the local circular economy.

campus

Living community

In the green campus city, the distances are short – between places, people and ideas. In Wünsdorf, people from crisis areas, Germans and EU citizens live, learn and work together. The training takes place in the dual system, which also enjoys a good reputation in other countries, because it prepares in the best possible way for all future career challenges – in theory as well as in practice. The practical part of the training includes the construction, operation and maintenance of the Eco City. The theoretical part conveys the necessary foundations for sustainable urban development. Craftsmen from local companies provide the training, experts from companies and project partners or retired professionals support them. The common education and daily life practice create a stable basis for a lively integration process. In researching issues of the campus city, the cultural knowledge of the refugees and their practical life experience in the crisis areas are valuable to develop particularly practical solutions.

The core principles of the campus

On the Eco City campus, ecology is learned and lived at the same time. The new qualities of the sustainable-cellular settlement concept can be proven in daily life. Many areas of daily life are organised cooperatively – community is the basis of a sustainable society.

All apprentices receive training in equal share from specialists from Germany and around the world, in particular global crisis areas. The training takes place in joint learning and working groups that convey theoretical and practical knowledge equally. Always following the maxim of a creative and inspiring coexistence.

The practical part of the training takes place in the self-operated companies of the Eco City, which play a key role in the management of the model city. The apprentices are integrated directly into these companies and acquire the corresponding know-how in their respective training area.

Trainees from different backgrounds live together in groups of up to 20 people with common rooms, individual rooms and family-friendly apartments. With an average duration of training of presumably 3-5 years, the housing groups will be put together so that newcomers and older residents live together.

The different experiences and cultural backgrounds of the apprentices offer optimal conditions to become creative together. Structures that promote community thinking and action create a breeding ground for ideas that combine technical, cultural and needs-based know-how.

eco station

The eco city´s heart

A novel type of building and without precedence: The interface between new local circular technology and the residents of the eco city. It is the most important functional building in the city – and at the same time its showroom to the world.

All essential energy and material cycles are brought together in the Eco Station. Sun, wind, water, biomass and geothermal energy: In the heart of the eco city, the energy flows are coordinated via an intelligent distribution grid (Smart Grid). Repair shops and laboratories for developing durable products and strengthening local material cycles are just as much a part of the Eco Station as Terra-Preta production, where fertile soil can be produced from waste water, organic municipal waste and charcoal. Greenhouse gas emissions are sent to the connected greenhouses for CO2 fertilization of crops. Aquaponic facilities for fish and vegetable production can also be created here for teaching and business. However, the Eco Station is not only a place of work for trainees and researchers, it is also an information and meeting center for visitors and the public. As a concrete demonstration site, it showcases the metamorphosis of fossil “end of pipe” urban systems to sustainable circulatory systems. Thus, the technical heart chamber of the Eco City also serves as an attractive learning and adventure location that makes the ecological system change vivid, understandable and sensually tangible.

Technological aspects

Energy / Smart Grid
Self-sufficiency from local and renewable energy sources, connection with electro-mobility and the energy components of water and material cycles

Water and nutrient cycles
Production of valuable soil from wastewater and organic municipal waste for local food production with Terra Preta technology

Local food production
Production of 80 per cent of vegetable, fruit and herbal supplies on own garden land and in greenhouses; presentation, tasting and marketing the products in restaurants at the eco station

Cradle-to-Cradle
Design demonstration and workshops f or the 5R Strategy: Refuse, Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, Renew

Social aspects

Adventure and learning destination promoting system change to locally networked circular technology, circular economy and new ecological design

Publicly accessible to residents, visitors, Apprentices – focused on life-long learning

Events, workshops, exhibitions – market place for local and regional products, for ideas and services on the way to a sustainable society

Experience of holistic design: for the senses, the mind, the heart, for a sense of play

aesthetics

no sustainability without beauty

Aesthetics is the recipe for success of nature -together with the pursuit of wholeness and harmony it forms the language of sustainability.

All sustainable cultures have been characterized by the search for beauty. Admiration, respect and appreciation of aesthetics and artistic creation were always among the most important elements of understanding of people with different language and origin. Aesthetics is therefore among the constituent building blocks of the Eco City.

An intercultural center offers space for independent or guided cultural activities such as music, dance, theater and free artistic activity. Based on the sustainable maxims of sharing and reuse, spaces, materials and instruments are provided for free use for everyone. The artistic outputs of intercultural activities shape the design of the campus city, its buildings, areas and facilities.

A second focus of the center is on helping to manage traumatic experiences of people from crisis regions with art therapy offers. Creativity can help them to find and express access to their inner world, which is often not expressible with words. Public events and projects are expanding cultural offerings into neighboring rural areas.

One can only understand the wholeness of the world through the experience of beauty

Aesthetics is immanent in nature and culture

From the first cave paintings, the simplest loam and straw huts, the earliest places of worship, to the art and design of the present: aesthetics is a biological basic human need and a basic pattern of human civilization and cultural history.

international academy

Impulse for the world

The international academy is the laboratory and mouthpiece of the Eco City and its findings on peace, integration and sustainability. From here, the establishment of a global network of Eco Cities is initiated.

The scientific work of the international academy explores the links between climate change and wars as the cause of migration. In addition, in close collaboration with Eco City and the campus, the Academy is developing strategies for the ecological re-colonization of devastated crisis regions. Proven models are then shared from Wünsdorf into the world – especially where they are most needed – in areas that are particularly affected by climate change or wars. International organizations can open up their own branches, also cooperation partners, visiting scientists, doctoral candidates and interns find their home on the grounds of the Academy. Leading players from politics, business and science support the work of the Academy. As partners and multipliers, they spread the message of peace, integration and ecological urban development both in the region and into the crisis areas.

Sharing knowledge and insights

What is developed and tested in Wünsdorf should not stay there: in exchange with the world, new ideas are discussed, good things are improved and established concepts shared and further developed. The impulse can form a movement, the concept becomes a prototype and the Eco City becomes a network.

impact

local

Local integration

Organized as a self-sufficient settlement, Eco City is no longer dependent on the external supply of energy and the disposal of waste. New, post-fossil lifestyles and urban models and the transformation of cities into networked circular systems are to be tested and taught in the Eco City. It will be 100% self-sufficient in energy. 80% of the demand for food will also be produced locally.

regional

Ecological model region Berlin-Brandenburg

Eco City Wünsdorf initiates sustainable growth effects and value creation for many local industries. Its strong attraction for companies, start-ups and investors revitalises the region and opens up new perspectives.

global

Global network
The international academy is the laboratory and mouthpiece of Eco City, a platform for its concepts of peace, integration and sustainability. From here, the establishment of a global network of Campus Eco Cities is initiated. Proven solution models are then carried out from Wünsdorf into the world – above all where they are most urgently needed: in the areas particularly affected by climate change or wars.

Want to find out more?

Take a look into our media portal, where you can find more information to download, press coverage and more!
to the download area

You want to support us?

konzept

Vier Bausteine, zehntausend Forscher

Lokale Kreislaufwirtschaft ist die Lösung für nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung. Hier setzt die Eco City Wünsdorf an – mit ihren vier Kernelementen Campus, Akademie, Eco Station und Ästhetik.

Die Eco City ist ein zellularer ökologischer Stadtorganismus, der möglichst autark betrieben wird. Ihre Bewohner sind Konsumenten und Produzenten zugleich, die sich weitestgehend selbst versorgen. Sie nutzen dazu erneuerbare Energien, lokale Wasser- und Nährstoffkreisläufe, Cradle-to-Cradle-Technologien für langlebige und recycelbare Produkte sowie konsequent nachhaltige Mobilitätslösungen.

Die Eco City ist vor allem eine Campus-Stadt, Bildung und Ausbildung ihr Fundament. Hier wohnen, leben und arbeiten zum großen Teil Auszubildende, die im Bereich nachhaltiger Stadtentwicklung unterrichtet werden. Menschen aus Krisengebieten, Deutsche, Europäer und internationale Studierende erproben hier Konzepte einer zukunftsfähigen Urbanität. Unterstützt von Experten, Praktikern, NGOs und Stiftungen, entsteht in Wünsdorf eine Zukunftsschmiede und ein Ort des ständigen Austausches mit Interessierten der Region wie auch Akteuren aus aller Welt. Ausgehend von dieser Modellstadt sollen künftig immer mehr Städte nach dem Prinzip der lokalen Kreislaufwirtschaft funktionieren.

campus

Gelebte Gemeinschaft

In der grünen Campus-Stadt sind die Wege kurz – zwischen Orten, Menschen und Ideen. In Wünsdorf wohnen, lernen und arbeiten Menschen aus Krisengebieten, Deutsche und EU-Bürger gemeinsam. Die Ausbildung erfolgt im dualen System, das auch in anderen Ländern einen sehr guten Ruf genießt, weil es bestmöglich auf alle Herausforderungen des späteren Berufs vorbereitet – in der Theorie wie in der Praxis. Der praktische Teil der Ausbildung umfasst den Aufbau, den Betrieb und die Instandhaltung der Eco City. Im theoretischen Teil werden die dafür erforderlichen Grundlagen nachhaltiger Stadtentwicklung vermittelt. Handwerker aus lokalen Betrieben übernehmen die Ausbildung, Experten aus Unternehmen sowie Projektpartner oder pensionierte Fachkräfte unterstützen sie. Die gemeinsame Ausbildung und tägliche Lebenspraxis schaffen eine stabile Basis für einen lebendigen Integrationsprozess. Kulturelles Wissen der geflüchteten Menschen und ihre praktische Lebenserfahrung in den Krisengebieten sind eine wertvolle Ressource, um bei der Erforschung von Fragestellungen der Campus-Stadt praxisnahe Lösungen zu erarbeiten.

Unsere Leitprinzipien

Auf dem Campus der Eco City wird Ökologie erlernt und zugleich gelebt. In der täglichen Lebenspraxis können sich die neuen Qualitäten des nachhaltig-zellularen Siedlungskonzeptes beweisen. Hierzu werden viele Bereiche des täglichen Lebens kooperativ organisiert – Gemeinschaft ist die Basis einer zukunftsfähigen Gesellschaft.

Alle Auszubildenden werden paritätisch von Fachkräften aus Deutschland und aller Welt, insbesondere globalen Krisengebieten, ausgebildet. Die Ausbildung erfolgt in gemeinsamen Lern- und Arbeitsgruppen, die theoretisches und praktisches Wissen gleichermaßen vermitteln. Immer nach der Maxime eines kreativen und inspirierenden Miteinanders.

Der praktische Teil der Ausbildung erfolgt in den Eigenbetrieben der Eco City, die eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Bewirtschaftung der Modellstadt einnehmen. Dabei werden die Auszubildenden direkt in diese Betriebe integriert und erwerben in ihrem jeweiligen Ausbildungsbereich das entsprechende Know-how.

Auszubildende unterschiedlicher Herkunft wohnen gemeinsam in Wohngruppen von maximal 20 Personen mit Gemeinschaftsräumen, individuellen Zimmern und familienfreundlichen Apartments. Bei einer durchschnittlichen Ausbildungsdauer von voraussichtlich 3–5 Jahren werden die Wohngruppen so zusammengesetzt, dass Neuankömmlinge und erfahrene Bewohner zusammenleben.

Die unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen und kulturellen Hintergründe der Auszubildenden bieten optimale Voraussetzungen, gemeinsam kreativ zu werden. Durch Strukturen, die das gemeinschaftliche Denken und Handeln fördern, wird ein Nährboden für Ideen geschaffen, die technisches, kulturelles und bedürfnisorientiertes Know-how verknüpfen.

eco station

Das Herz der Eco City

Ein Gebäude neuen Typs und ohne Vorbild: die Schnittstelle zwischen neuer lokaler Kreislauftechnik und den Bewohnern der Eco City. Sie ist das wichtigste Funktionsgebäude der Stadt – und zugleich ihr Showroom zur Welt.

Alle wesentlichen Energie- und Stoffkreisläufe werden in der Eco Station zusammengeführt. In diesem Zentrum der Eco City werden die Energieströme aus Sonne, Wind, Wasser, Biomasse und Erdwärme über ein intelligentes Verteilernetz (Smart Grid) koordiniert. Reparaturwerkstätten und Labore zur Entwicklung langlebiger Produkte und Stärkung lokaler Stoffkreisläufe sind ebenso maßgebliche Elemente der Eco Station wie die Terra-Preta-Produktion, bei der aus Abwasser, organischen Siedlungsabfällen und Holzkohle fruchtbare Erde hergestellt werden kann. Entstehende Klimagase werden in die angeschlossenen Gewächshäuser zur CO2-Düngung der Nutzpflanzen geleitet. Auch Aquaponikanlagen für Fisch- und Gemüseproduktion können hier für Lehre und Wirtschaft entstehen. Die Eco Station ist jedoch nicht nur Arbeitsort für Auszubildende und Forscher, sie ist zugleich ein Informations- und Begegnungszentrum für Besucher und Öffentlichkeit. Als konkretes Anschauungsobjekt demonstriert sie den Metabolismus fossiler Stadtsysteme zu nachhaltigen Kreislaufsystemen. So dient die technische Herzkammer der Eco City auch als ein attraktiver Lern- und Erlebnisort, der den ökologischen Systemwandel anschaulich, verständlich und sinnlich erfahrbar macht.

Technische Funktionen

Energie / Smart Grid
Energetische Selbstversorgung aus lokalen und erneuerbaren Quellen, Vernetzung mit Elektromobilität und den Energiekomponenten der Wasser- und Stoffkreisläufe

Wasser- und Nährstoffkreisläufe
Gewinnung wertvoller Erde aus Abwässern und organischen Siedlungsabfällen für die lokale Selbstversorgung mit Nahrungsmitteln durch Terra-Preta-Technologie

Lokale Nahrungsmittelproduktion
Produktion von 80 Prozent des Gemüse-, Obst- und Kräuterbedarfs auf eigenem Gartenland und in Gewächshäusern; Präsentation, Verkostung und Vermarktung der Produkte in Restaurants der Eco Station

Cradle-to-Cradle
Design-Demonstration und Werkstätten für die 5R- Strategie: Refuse, Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, Renew

Soziale Funktionen

Erlebnis- und Lernort für den Systemwandel zu lokal vernetzter Kreislauftechnik, Kreislaufwirtschaft und neuer ökologischer Gestaltung

Öffentlich zugänglich für Bewohner, Besucher, Auszubildende – ausgerichtet auf lebenslanges Lernen

Events, Workshops, Ausstellungen – Marktplatz für lokale und regionale Produkte, für Ideen und Dienstleistungen auf dem Weg zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft

Erfahrungsort für ganzheitliche Gestaltung: für die Sinne, den Verstand, das Herz, für den menschlichen Spiel- und Erkenntnistrieb

ästhetik

Ohne Schönheit keine Nachhaltikgeit

Ästhetik ist das Erfolgsrezept der Natur – in ihr und dem Streben nach Ganzheit und Harmonie verbirgt sich der Logos der Nachhaltigkeit.

Alle nachhaltigen Kulturen waren durch die Suche nach Schönheit geprägt. Bewunderung, Achtung und Wertschätzung von Ästhetik und künstlerischem Schaffen zählten stets zu den wichtigsten Elementen der Verständigung von Menschen unterschiedlicher Sprache und Herkunft. Ästhetik gehört daher zu den konstituierenden Bausteinen der Eco City. Ein interkulturelles Zentrum bietet Raum für selbstständige oder angeleitete kulturelle Aktivitäten wie Musik, Tanz, Theater und freie künstlerische Betätigung. Räume, Materialien und Instrumente werden zur freien Nutzung für alle bereitgestellt. Die künstlerischen Ergebnisse der interkulturellen Aktivitäten prägen die Gestaltung der Campus-Stadt. Ein zweiter Fokus des Zentrums liegt auf der Hilfe zur Bewältigung traumatischer Erlebnisse von Menschen aus Krisenregionen mittels kunsttherapeutischer Angebote. Kreativität kann ihnen helfen, einen Zugang zu ihrem Inneren zu finden und auszudrücken, was mit Worten oft nicht sagbar ist. Öffentliche Veranstaltungen und Projekte erweitern das kulturelle Angebot in der Region.

Erst über die Erfahrung des Schönen kann die Welt in ihrer Ganzheit begriffen werden.

Ästhetik ist in der Natur und Kultur immanent

Von den ersten Höhlenmalereien, den einfachsten Lehm- und Strohhütten, den frühesten Kultstätten bis zu Kunst und Gestaltung der Gegenwart: Ästhetik ist ein biologisch angelegtes Grundbedürfnis des Menschen und ein Grundmuster der menschlichen Zivilisations- und Kulturgeschichte.

internationale akademie

Impuls für die Welt

Die internationale Akademie ist Labor und Sprachrohr der Eco City, ein Umschlagplatz ihrer Konzepte zu Frieden, Integration und Nachhaltigkeit. Von hier aus wird der Aufbau eines globalen Netzwerks von Eco Cities initiiert.

Die wissenschaftliche Arbeit der internationalen Akademie erforscht die Zusammenhänge zwischen Klimawandel und Kriegen als Ursache von Migration. Darüber hinaus entwickelt sie in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Eco City und dem Campus Strategien zur ökologischen Wiederbesiedlung zerstörter Krisenregionen. Erprobte Lösungsmodelle werden dann von Wünsdorf aus in die Welt getragen – vor allem dorthin, wo sie am dringendsten gebraucht werden: in die von Klimawandel oder Kriegen besonders betroffenen Gebiete. Internationale Organisationen können sich mit eigenen Dependancen ansiedeln, auch Kooperationspartner, Gastwissenschaftler, Doktoranden und Praktikanten finden auf dem Gelände der Akademie ihr Zuhause. Führende Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft unterstützen die Arbeit der Akademie. Als Partner und Multiplikatoren verbreiten sie die Botschaft des Friedens, der Integration und der ökologischen Stadtentwicklung sowohl in der Region als auch in den Krisengebieten.

Wissen und Erkenntnisse teilen

Was in der Eco City Wünsdorf entwickelt und erprobt wird, soll dort nicht bleiben: Im Austausch mit der Welt wird Neues diskutiert, Gutes verbessert und Bewährtes geteilt und weiterentwickelt. So kann aus dem Impuls eine Bewegung, aus dem Konzept ein Prototyp und aus der Eco City ein Netzwerk entstehen.

wirkungskraft

lokal

Lokale Vernetzung

Als autarke Siedlung organisiert, ist die Eco City nicht länger angewiesen auf die Versorgung mit Energie und Produkten und die Entsorgung von Abfall. Neue, post-fossile Lebens- und Stadtmodelle und die Transformation der Städte in vernetzte Kreislaufsysteme sollen in der Eco City erprobt und gelehrt werden. Sie wird sich zu 100% selbst mit Energie versorgen. Auch der Bedarf an  Nahrungsmitteln wird zu 80% lokal vor Ort produziert.

regional

Ökologische Modellregion Berlin-Brandenburg
Die Eco City Wünsdorf stößt nachhaltige Wachstumseffekte und Wertschöpfung für viele lokale Branchen an. Ihre starke Anziehungskraft auf Firmen, Start-ups und Investoren revitalisiert die Region und eröffnet neue Perspektiven.

global

Globales Netzwerk
Die internationale Akademie ist Labor und Sprachrohr der Eco City, ein Umschlagplatz ihrer Konzepte zu Frieden, Integration und Nachhaltigkeit. Von hier aus wird der Aufbau eines globalen Netzwerks von Campus Eco Cities initiiert. Erprobte Lösungsmodelle werden dann von Wünsdorf aus in die Welt getragen – vor Allem dorthin, wo sie am dringendsten gebraucht werden: in die von Klimawandel oder Kriegen besonders betroffenen Gebiete.

Sie wollen mehr erfahren?

Dann werfen Sie einen Blick in unser Medienportal, wo Sie Infomaterial zum Download, Pressestimmen und mehr finden.
zum Medienportal

Sie würden uns gern unterstützen?